It is probably fair to say – without taking away from Pro-Golfer Hannah Green’s absolutely exceptional achievement – that we could see this one coming.

In June this year, F Magazine published an article about Green’s win at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship. After an impressive second LPGA Tour win in September, winning the prestigious ‘Outstanding Woman in Sport’ Award at the Australian Women’s Health Women in Sport Awards in Sydney on October 16, is surely the icing on the cake for this incredible sportswoman.

Minister for Youth and Sport Richard Colbeck congratulated Hannah on winning the award and for her many achievements in the sport to date. “Hannah is a true champion, having won the Women’s PGA Championship in spectacular fashion in June this year,” Minister Colbeck said. “Hannah’s win was the first major win by an Australian woman since Green’s mentor Karrie Webb at the 2006 Kraft Nabisco Championship, and she became only the third Australian woman to win a major. […] Sports stars like Hannah provide inspiration for all Australians, but particularly young women, to get involved in sport and follow their dreams. […] Our gifted sportswomen all deserve recognition for their achievements and I acknowledge all the other winners from tonight’s ceremony.”

Previous winners of this award have included boxer Skye Nicolson, skier Britt Cox, and rower Kim Crow, who have all represented Australia in elite competition. Hannah Green joins the ranks of other incredible sports women who have been honoured for their achievements this year, including Tennis star Ashleigh Barty, who has been named Sports Woman of 2019, and let’s not forget surfer Sally Fitzgibbons, who won the Rio Pro final, also in June this year, claiming the #1 world ranking.

“It has been fantastic to see the accelerated growth of elite women’s competitions in a broad range of sports in recent years.” Minister Richard Colbeck continued, talking about Hannah Green’s Award win.

Readers also enjoyed this story about Naomi Watts, set to receive this year’s Orry-Kelly Award.