The Caroline Jones Women in Media Young Journalists Award celebrates the work of young female journalists. Presented annually, this award recognises the tenacity and passion for the craft of journalism from young women working across rural and regional Australia.

Open to any female rural and regional journalist working in a non-metropolitan area, this initiative seeks to immerse the award winner in an intensive experience of journalism, politics, and government in Canberra. The award will include a $2500 personal learning fund, travel and accommodation to Canberra for five nights, National Press Club lunch attendance, and mentorship from members of the Canberra Women in Media Committee.

Named in honour of Caroline Jones AO, a ground-breaking journalist who became the first female reporter for This Day Tonight, this award seeks to foster commitment and passion for journalism among young women practitioners in rural and regional Australia. This award is the first of its kind in encouraging young female rural and regional journalists to experience first hand the complexities of the media and political landscape across the nation’s capital.

It is a life changing, horizon broadening and immersive prize, exposing the winner not only to the institutions of Canberra, including the Press Gallery and National Press Club, but also bringing them into contact with the Women in Media network – providing mentorship, guidance, and insights from Canberra’s most prominent female journalists. Winners will be notified in August with the week in Canberra to be scheduled in October.

Banner Image: Jillian Whiting, Kylie Blucher & Kay McGrath

Readers also enjoyed this story about the Global Women’s Summit.